Vishnu Sahasranama

ಸ್ವಯಂಭೂಃ ಶಂಭು: ಆದಿತ್ಯಃ ಪುಷ್ಕರಾಕ್ಷೋ ಮಹಾಸ್ವನಃ |

ಅನಾದಿನಿಧನೋ ಧಾತಾ ವಿಧಾತಾ ಧಾತುರುತ್ತಮಃ || ೫ ||

svayaṃbhūḥ śaṃbhu ādityaḥ puṣkarākṣo mahāsvanaḥ |

anādinidhano dhātā vidhātā dhāturuttamaḥ || 5 ||


svayaṃbhūḥ means the one who creates oneself and is complete (i.e., no one created him). Our creation and completeness is dependent on the creator (e.g. mother and father who gave us birth) and our surroundings that made us complete. But God is self-made and complete with no dependencies. Who is responsible for God’s creation? Nobody, he creates and appears by himself. He is self-made (for e.g., like one may say look at that there was no object here just a moments ago and it automatically appeared). To fulfil the good desires of his devotees, he by his own desire creates himself.

God is like how knowledge is born from knowledge and one light lights up another. If one lamp or fire is lit from another lamp or fire does the brightness in the original fire or lamp diminish? It will not. God can change form from one to another. However although the original form is genuine, the form that emanates from the original form is also genuine (like one fire from another), the incarnation of God from original form is also original. He is complete in original, current, and future states.

ಓಂ ಪೂರ್ಣಮದಃ ಪೂರ್ಣಮಿದಮ್ ಪೂರ್ಣಾತ್ ಪೂರ್ಣಮುದಚ್ಯತೇ |

oṃ pūrṇamadaḥ pūrṇamidam pūrṇāt pūrṇamudacyate |

That is complete, This is complete, From the completeness comes the completeness.

ಪೂರ್ಣಸ್ಯ ಪೂರ್ಣಮಾದಾಯ ಪೂರ್ಣಮೇವಾವಶಿಷ್ಯತೇ ||

pūrṇasya pūrṇamādāya pūrṇamevāvaśiṣyate ||

If completeness is taken away from completeness, Only completeness remains

ಓಂ ಶಾನ್ತಿಃ ಶಾನ್ತಿಃ ಶಾನ್ತಿಃ |

oṃ śāntiḥ śāntiḥ śāntiḥ |

Om, Peace peace peace


Sham (śaṃ)-Bhuvati means Bliss and is his true Form. Sham-Bhuvati-Anena means the one who gives Bliss to others. Here Sham (śaṃ) means Bliss. e.g., oṃ śaṃ no mitraḥ śaṃ varuṇaḥ | śaṃ no bhavatvaryamā | śaṃ no indro bṛhaspatiḥ | śaṃ no viṣṇururukramaḥ | (ಓಂ ಶಂ ನೋ ಮಿತ್ರಃ ಶಂ ವರುಣಃ | ಶಂ ನೋ ಭವತ್ವರ್ಯಮಾ | ಶಂ ನೋ ಇನ್ದ್ರೋ ಬೃಹಸ್ಪತಿಃ | ಶಂ ನೋ ವಿಷ್ಣುರುರುಕ್ರಮಃ |). Here, “Sham (śaṃ)” is used as Bliss. All religion and scripture recognize God a Bliss. Who is by himself Bliss and gives Bliss to other is śaṃbhu.


One meaning of ādityaḥ is that is he the son on Adithi. Adithi is Maharshi Kashyap’s wife and the mother of all deities. Adithi had 12 children. They are called dwadash (12) Aditya’s (children of Adithi). Vivaswan (Surya), Aryaman, Pusha, Twasta, Savitha, Baga, Dhata, Vidhatha (Parjanya), Varuna, Mitra, Indra, Urukram are the twelve Aditya’s. These twelve Aditya’s are the presiding deities for the twelve months in a year. The twelfth Aditya Urukram is Vamana form Vishnu. Although he was born last, he was existed in prior form before the twelve Aditya’s. He is “Adi+thi” meaning, he was true Bliss in his original form and subsequent forms too, and responsible for everything. Also in our Solar System, the one who is the energy and presiding deity for our Sun is also known and ādityaḥ.


Puskara means lotus, ākṣa means eyes. puṣkarākṣahas means the one who bright-wide eyes that are colored like lotus that just now blossomed (light pink). Bright-wide eyes signifies, one who is pure bliss. God is pure bliss. When one has wide-bright eyes it also signifies compassion. One who has health eyes and eyesight, and one who protects us and one with compassion is known as puṣkarākṣa.

Veda’s inform us that the whole universe is embedded in Brahma’s egg, and one that cannot be created or born and manifest itself as space and time and their contents, including planets, stars, galaxies, and all other forms of matter and energy as a branch of a 14 stemmed lotus. Hence, the God has embedded within himself the universes (Brahma’s egg) and has given birth to all the space and time and their contents, including planets, stars, galaxies, and all other forms of matter and energy (Big Bang), is called puṣkarākṣa.


mahā means big and svanaḥ means bang. The one who created the big bang (Veda) is know as mahāsvanaḥ. Mahā+asu+ana = mahāsvanaḥ. Here asu mean sense organs, maha asu means the most important sense organ. Anu means movement. Amongst all sense organs, breath is most important sense organ. Hence among sense organs (asu), Breath is the most important (maha asu), also know as Mukya Prana. The one who give movement even to the Breath (maha asu) is know as mahāsvanaḥ.


There is no past and infinite, birth and death for God, he is present in our breath, during creation-sustenance-destruction and hence Anādinidhana.


The name dhātā has various meanings. One who can protect and sustain the Universe; One who bestows wants that befits oneself to the betterment of the society; one who is extolled by various names .etc.,


Not only during materialistic existence but when in salvation, God is dhātā and hence vidhātā.


dhātuhu means one is superior to Lord Brahma. He is tridhāta, meaning, one who bears all the three - the three Vedas (Rig, Yajur, and Sama), the three worlds (Bhu - earth, Bhuvar – where siddhas and other celestial beings move and is the Earth's atmospheric sphere which also contains space which has its neighboring planets in the solar system along with stars and comets., Svar - The interval between the sun and Dhruva, extending fourteen hundred thousand leagues, is inhabited by the Devas, including Devis with their king Indra and it's references make it equivalent to the Swarga (heaven)) and beyond (Mahar - Above Dhruva, at the distance of ten million leagues, lies the sphere of saints, or Mahar-loka, the inhabitants of which dwell in it throughout a Kalpa, or day of Brahmā., Jana - At twice that distance is situated Janaloka, where the Sanandana (four Kumaras) and other pure-minded children of Brahmā reside., Tapa- At four times the distance, between the two last, lies the Tapa-loka (the sphere of penance), inhabited by the immortal beings and deities called Vaibhrájas, who are highly knowledgeable, pure, and enlightened, whereby they can easily travel to the uppermost realm, Satya-loka, are unconsumable by fire of destruction during the dissolution of the universe., and Satya- It is highest plane of consciousness or the highest of the heavenly realms. It is also called Brahma Loka where Brahma and his wife, Saraswati, resides. It is six times the distance (or twelve Crores, a hundred and twenty millions of leagues) and is referred to as the sphere of truth, where all the knowledge is available and the inhabitants never die, become old, become ill, have pain and anxiety.).